What’s your love language?

by Patrick Ibsen on Monday 10 June 2024

3 min read

Have you ever wondered why certain gestures make you feel deeply loved and appreciated while others might not resonate as much? Welcome to the fascinating world of love languages. Here, we’ll give you insight into these five languages and how they can apply to all relationships in your life.

What are the five love languages?

Developed by Dr. Gary Chapman in the 1990s, the five love languages are a framework designed to help individuals understand how they give and receive love. While these are just a guide, they can help inform you and those around you about what truly makes you feel fulfilled – and how to do it.

Words of affirmation

Words can uplift, encourage, and affirm like nothing else. For individuals whose primary love language is affirmation, heartfelt compliments, words of appreciation, and verbal expressions of affection are the key to their hearts. Whether it's a simple "I love you" or a sincere acknowledgment of their efforts, these words carry immense significance and can deepen emotional connections.

Acts of service

Actions truly speak louder than words for those who consider acts of service to be their primary love language. From small acts of kindness to significant gestures of support, the thoughtfulness and effort behind these actions convey love in its purest form. Whether it's cooking a meal, running errands, or lending a helping hand, these acts demonstrate a genuine desire to care for and prioritise the receiver's well-being.

Receiving gifts

For some, the act of gift-giving goes beyond high-priced presents and instead becomes a powerful expression of love and thoughtfulness. Those who cherish receiving gifts as their love language value the sentiment and meaning behind each present. No matter if it's a handmade treasure, a thoughtful souvenir, or a symbolic token of affection – like booking a Personal Training session - giving and receiving gifts becomes a tangible reminder of love and appreciation.

Quality time

Quality time has become a precious commodity in today's fast-paced world, especially for individuals who consider it their primary love language. These individuals thrive on undivided attention, meaningful conversations, and shared experiences with their loved ones. This can include a quiet evening at home, doing a Grid Training class together, or a spontaneous adventure together. The gift of time fosters intimacy and strengthens bonds like nothing else.

Physical touch

Physical touch is a powerful form of communication that exceeds words and speaks directly to the heart. For those whose primary love language is physical touch, gestures like hugs, kisses, cuddles, and tender embraces are essential expressions of love and connection. The warmth of a handhold, the comfort of a hug, or the intimacy of a gentle caress can profoundly convey love, reassurance, and emotional support.

Can I only have one love language?

People often have a primary love language, which is how they naturally express and receive love. This isn’t to say they can’t appreciate other love languages to varying degrees. Taking a moment to think about what it is that makes you tick is a great exercise. If you need a bit of guidance on this, our article, “The virtues of self-reflection”, can be a great resource for you.

How do love languages help form healthy patterns?

Understanding each other's love languages can greatly improve communication and connection in all relationships. It can also aid in conflict resolution and help build trust. Recognising and responding to an individual’s love language appropriately, you can navigate potential conflicts. Plus, speaking to someone’s love language shows you care and are considerate of their needs.

Are love languages for romantic relationships only?

Quick answer: no, not at all. The principles of love languages can apply to various types of relationships. For instance, in friendships, understanding each other's love languages can strengthen bonds and foster deeper connections. In professional settings, recognising colleagues' preferred forms of appreciation, whether it's words of affirmation like applauding a colleague on a job well done or acts of service like making your work mate a cup of tea. These efforts can enhance teamwork and collaboration.

Remember to love yourself

Regardless of your love language, it’s important to cherish the person you are regularly. One great way to show some self-love is to treat yourself to an act of service through our rest and recovery facilities.

Related articles


3 min read

Cosy and calming things to do by yourself (when it’s cold outside)


3 min read

You can’t exercise your way out of an unhealthy diet


3 min read

How to make a new habit stick

Enjoying our blog?

Sign up to our newsletter to get updates on training, healthy living, news and events.